Twente stay top in Holland; Besiktas tonk Fenerbahce; Rubin Kazan win the Russian title after Spartak’s keeper drops a clanger; Anderlecht win & Standard lose; Olympiakos held; Kiev down Shakhtar; Haifa stay perfect

Twente 1 – Vitesse 0 (Eredivisie, November 21, 2009) A late goal by Bryan Ruiz was enough to send FC Twente five points clear at the top of the Eredivisie, the Costa Rica forward struck from close range seven minutes from time as Steve McClaren’s side finally made the breakthrough after they had failed to convert their domination.

NAC Breda 3 – NEC Nijmegen 3 (Eredivisie, November 21, 2009) Saidi Ntibazonkiza had the final say in a six-goal thriller as struggling NEC battled for a draw against NAC Breda. Ntibazonkiza grabbed NEC’s third goal eight minutes from the end of a match which they had led at the hour mark, only for Matthew Amoah’s double to turn the game in NAC’s favour. Bjorn Vleminckx had put NEC ahead after just 10 minutes but an own goal four minutes later from Niels Wellenberg cancelled that out. Ntibazonkiza put NEC in front again after 54 minutes but Amoah’s goals (62 and 78) looked to have put NAC on course for three points.

RKC Waalwijk 3 – FC Groningen 1 (Eredivisie, November 21, 2009) Luciano received a straight red card for hauling down RKC striker Charlison Benschop outside the area after 11 minutes, and the hosts did not take long to make their man advantage pay. Benschop opened the scoring after 18 minutes while Ruud Berger made it 2-0 after half an hour. Tim Matavz pulled one back for Groningen but Benschop’s second of the night in the second period ensured RKC posted a rare and welcome win.


Besiktas 3 – Fenerbahce 0 (Super Lig, November 21, 2009) Two goals in the space of four minutes at the start of the second half from Michael Fink and Deivson Bobo set Besiktas on their way. Kazim Kazim was dismissed in the 75th minute and Fener’s evening went from bad to worse as substitute Ugur Inceman notched the third goal seven minutes from time.

Gaziantepspor 0 – Bursaspor 1 (Super Lig, November 21, 2009) Bursaspor moved into temporary third spot in the table courtesy of Giani Stelian Kirita’s late winner.


Rubin Kazan 0 – Zenit St. Petersburg 0 (Russian Premier League, November 21, 2009) (Longer highlights here.) Russia’s defending champions Rubin Kazan retained their title with a goalless home draw with Zenit after their closest rivals Spartak lost the Moscow derby. Rubin’s post match title celebrations can be seen here.

Spartak Moscow 2 – CSKA Moscow 3 (Russian Premier League, November 21, 2009) (Longer highlights here.) Second-placed Spartak took the lead over city rivals CSKA thanks to a brilliantly cheeky penalty from their star Brazilian midfielder Alex after only five minutes. But the visitors drew level on the stroke of halftime as wunderkid Alan Dzagoev netted the equaliser after Spartak had failed to deal right-wing cross. CSKA moved into the lead minutes into the second half as Tomas Necid’s snap-shot found it’s way into the far corner as Spartak’s title dreams began to unravel. Spartak striker Welliton brought the hosts level latching onto a long punt upfield in the 63rd minute, but in the 88th minute home keeper Soslan Dzhanaev dropped a terrible clanger to allow Tomas Necid’s 25-yard shot slip through his hands, putting the final nail in Spartak’s title dreams and handing the title to Rubin Kazan.

Dynamo Moscow 0 – Lokomotiv Moscow 2 (Russian Premier League, November 21, 2009) Dmitri Torbinsky and Wagner netted the goals for Lokomotiv.


AA Gent 2 – Standard Liege 1 (Jupiler League, November 21, 2009) Zoro Gohi-Bi opened the scoring for Standard after three minutes but Gent hit back to claim the win thanks to Christophe Lepoint’s 42nd-minute effort and an Adnan Custovic penalty after 65 minutes.

Anderlecht 3 – Roeselare 1 (Jupiler League, November 21, 2009) Anderlecht moved ahead with a second-minute Roland Juhasz effort and a horrific Jurgen Sierens own goal putting them in the driving seat. Romelu Lukaku made it 3-0 a minute before the break while Bjarni Geir Vidarsson pulled one back for the visitors three minutes after the restart.


Pas Giannina 2 – Olympiakos 2 (Greek Super League, November 21, 2009) Michal Zewlakow and Costas Mitroglou gave Olympiakos a 2-nil lead. Christos Tzanis narrowed the gap for Giannena before Ibrahima Bakayoko made it 2-2 in the last minute of regular time.

Kavala 2 – AEK Athens 1 (Greek Super League, November 21, 2009) Apostolis Giannou’s 85th minute winner sunk AEK Athens.

Xanthi Skoda 1 – Levadiakos 0 (Greek Super League, November 21, 2009)


Dynamo Kiev 3 – Shakhtar Donetsk 0 (Ukrainian Premier League, November 21, 2009) In the battle of the Ukrainian powerhouses, Dynamo Kiev’s Artem Milevskiy fired the hosts ahead against Shakhtar on the stroke of halftime after collecting a cushioned pass from Andriy Shevchenko. Ten minutes after the break the Shevchenko-Milevskiy tandem combined again as Kiev opened up a two goal lead. Shakhter fell to pieces on the hour as a mistake at the back allowed Andriy Yarmolenko to nip in and score number three.

Metalist Kharkiv 2 – Zorya 0 (Ukrainian Premier League, November 21, 2009)


Maccabi Haifa 4 – Maccabi Ahi Nazrat 1 (Ligat ha’Al, November 21, 2009) Haifa secured their 10th straight win to complete a perfect start to the season.


Lech Poznan 3 – Ruch Chorzow 1 (Ekstraklasa, November 21, 2009)