McClaren’s Twente claim first ever Eredivisie title; Ajax come 2nd; Benfica denied Portuguese title after Porto loss; Braga keep up pressure

NAC Breda 0 – Twente 2 (Eredivisie, May 2, 2010) NAC Breda appeared to be happy to throw the championship the way of FC Twente in the first half when Csaba Feher saw red for the hosts after 21 minutes and just 120 seconds later Bryan Ruiz capitalised on a horrible error at the back to steer McClaren’s men into the lead. (First half highlights here.) The former wally with the brolly was then able to smile in the 73rd minute when Chelsea loanee Miroslav Stoch cut in from the left and curled a right-footed beauty into the far corner as Twente upset the odds to claim the Dutch championship. (Second half highlights here.)

The scenes at the full-time whistle can be seen here, while Twente’s trophy celebrations can be seen here.

Steve McClaren’s post match interview can be seen here.

NEC Nijmegen 1 – Ajax 4 (Eredivisie, May 2, 2010) Ajax, waiting in the wings for any slip up by leaders Twente, took the lead away at NEC when serial-striker Luis Suarez chipped a first time beauty over the home keeper with a cute first time shot. Demy de Zeeuw doubled the Amsterdammers’ lead with a tidy finish in the 36th minute, and Marko Pantelic completed a dominant first half for Ajax with a third just before the interval. (First half highlights here.) It the result wasn’t safe before, Luis Suarez netted his second of the game to make it four after 63 minutes. NEC ended their season with a late consolation courtesy of Saidi Ntibazonkiza.

FC Utrecht 2 – Vitesse 2 (Eredivisie, May 2, 2010) Utrecht relinquished a two-goal lead to draw 2-2 at home to Vitesse Arnhem. Dries Mertens and Jacob Mulenga had the hosts two up within the hour but Onur Kaya and Santi Kolk notched in the final half-hour to nick a point for 14th-placed Vitesse.

Feyenoord 6 – Heerenveen 2 (Eredivisie, May 2, 2010) Retiring Feyenoord striker Roy Makaay was the hero with a hat-trick on his last match. Christian Grindheim gifted Heerenveen an early lead, but the Friezen soon conceded when Bruins found retiring striker Roy Makaay with a perfect cross and the experienced striker headed home from inside the area. Viktor Elm restored Heerenveen’s lead when he fired home a free-kick. Makaay then set up young defender Stefan de Vrij to level. Jon Dahl Tomasson was the first one to find the net in the second half and Makaay doubled his personal tally only minutes later to make it 4-2 for the hosts. Again Makaay made things even worse for Heerenveen with his third goal of the match in the 75th minute before Andre Bahia scored the last goal of the match from inside the area.

Get notified!
About the best football betting tips from industry experts!
Thank you!

AZ Alkmaar 1 – PSV 1 (Eredivisie, May 2, 2010) Otman Bakkal fired third-placed PSV into the lead just after the hour mark before Mounir El Hamdaoui levelled with 20 minutes to go.

FC Groningen 3 – Sparta 1 (Eredivisie, May 2, 2010) Groningen enjoyed a comfortable final afternoon with a 3-1 home win over Sparta, who were already consigned to a relegation play-off place. Koen van de Laak, Tim Matavz and Fredrik Stenman had Groningen in command before Joshua John’s late consolation.

Roda 3 – Willem II 2 (Eredivisie, May 2, 2010) Roda snuck into the Europa League play-offs as Davy de Fauw struck two minutes from time to spare their blushes with a 3-2 win against relegation-threatened Willem II. Roda had seemed on course for a comfortable victory thanks to Boldiszar Bodor’s 34th-minute strike and Mads Junker’s penalty five minutes after the break, but the visitors fought back through Marlon Pereira (69) and Said Boutahar (75).

Heracles 4 – ADO Den Haag 2 (Eredivisie, May 2, 2010) Marko Matic and Everton had Heracles two goals to the good inside seven minutes and Birger Maartens scored the third after Den Haag’s Karim Soltani had been sent off. Den Haag briefly threatened a surprise comeback after Timothy Derijck and Antoine van der Linden’s own goal gave them hope, only for Heracles to score a late fourth through Darl Douglas.


FC Porto 3 – Benfica 1 (Liga Sagres, May 2, 2010) Benfica were 1-0 down at half-time thanks to Bruno-Alves’ 42nd-minute goal, but, after Jorge Fucile saw red seven minutes after the restart, Luisao levelled three minutes from the hour mark. It took just two minutes for Porto to regain their lead and they made it 3-1 through Fernando Belluschi eight minutes from time.

Braga 1 – Pacos Ferreira 0 (Liga Sagres, May 2, 2010) Albert Meyong grabbed the only goal of the game 10 minutes into the second period to keep the title race alive.

Sporting Lisbon 0 – Associacao Naval 1 (Liga Sagres, May 2, 2010) Sporting Lisbon qualified for the Europa League despite losing 1-0 to Naval, Fabio Junior grabbing the only goal after 62 minutes.

Click here for more Premier League betting tips