Goals from Holland, Portugal, Turkey, Belgium, Russia, Croatia & much more

PSV 6 – Ajax 2 (Eredivisie, April 19, 2009) Edison Mendez cracked home a 25-yard beauty that cannoned in off the net to put PSV ahead against Ajax. The Amsterdammers were then sliced open to concede a second, Ibrahim Afellay eventually turning the ball into an unguarded net. More disastrous defending cost Ajax a humiliating third, Nordin Amrabat picking up a horror back-pass to slot the ball into an empty net. Ajax’s star Luis Suarez restored a little pride at the end of the half pulling back a goal. The PSV onslaught continued in the second half, Jason Culina cutting in from the right to add a fourth before Balazs Dzsudzsak scored a brilliant direct free-kick to bring up the fifth. Miralem Sulejmani claimed a late consolation for Ajax before Otman Bakkal added a late sixth.

Volendam 3 – Sparta 0 (Eredivisie, April 19, 2009) Volendam climbed off the foot with victory over Sparta as Rowin van Zaanen, Paul De Lange (penalty) and Gerson Sheotahul scored for the hosts, while Sparta had Yuri Rose sent off in the final minutes.

FC Utrecht 2 – Heerenveen 1 (Eredivisie, April 19, 2009) Despite taking the lead through Paulo Henrique after three minutes, Heerenveen were pegged back by Michael Silberbauer’s equaliser four minutes later. The match appeared to be heading for a draw, but a late challenge from Darryl Janmaat on Loic Loval saw the former dismissed and Utrecht awarded a penalty. And Gregor van Dijk made no mistakes from the spot to steal the win which sees Heerenveen slip to fifth.

De Graafschap 0 – FC Groningen 1 (Eredivisie, April 18, 2009) De Graafschap slumped closer to relegation as Marcus Berg’s penalty condemned them to a bad home defeat.


Academica Coimbra 0 – Porto 3 (Superliga, April 19, 2009) Porto won the match in the second half, Rolando, Lisandro Lopez and Mariano Gonzalez all netting goals.

Vitoria Setubal 0 – Benfica 4 (Superliga, April 19, 2009) Nuno Gomes opened the scoring in the 26th minute and Oscar Cardozo made it 3-nil by adding a double before the break. Gomes then grabbed his second in the 70th minute.

Maritimo 1 – Belenenses 1 (Superliga, April 19, 2009)

Rio Ave 2 – Trofense 1 (Superliga, April 19, 2009)


Istanbul Buyuksehir 0 – Galatasaray 1 (Super Lig, April 19, 2009) Once again Milan Baros proved the match winner for Gala, tucking home the winner from close range after good work by Nonda down the right-hand side.

Besiktas 0 – Bursaspor 0 (Super Lig, April 19, 2009) Ten-man Besiktas missed the chance to go top as they were held to a 0-0 home draw by Bursaspor.


Westerlo 0 – Anderlecht 1 (Jupiler League, April 19, 2009) Tom De Sutter’s 52nd minute winner sent Anderlecht level on points with Standard Liege at the top.


Lokomotiv Moscow 1 – Zenit St. Petersburg 1 (Russian Premier League, April 19, 2009) Zenit’s South Korean left-back Kim Dong-Jin grabbed the opener heading home a set-play. Lokomotiv rallied as Rodolfo equalised before the hosts had to see out the final stages with 10-men after Marko Basa saw red.

Khimki 0 – CSKA Moscow 3 (Russian Premier League, April 19, 2009)


Young Boys 3 – Grasshoppers 1 (Swiss Super League, April 19, 2009) Seydou Doumbia cancelled out Alain Schultz’s opener before the 73rd dismissal of Roland Linz turned the game. Saif Ghezal fired Young Boys in front two minutes later with Doumbia grabbing his second as the hosts moved three points behind the top two.


Zapresic 0 – Hajduk Split 2 (1. HNL, April 19, 2009)

Croatia Sesvete 0 – Dinamo Zagreb 4 (1. HNL, April 19, 2009)


Brommapojkarna 2 – AIK 3 (Allsvenskan, April 19, 2009) Viktor Lundberg, Mauro Ivan Obolo and Saihou Jagne scored for the away side, while Olof Guterstam and Imad Chhadeh did so for the guests. Brommapojkarna has Kim Odelius sent off near full time.

Gefle 1 – Elfsborg 2 (Allsvenskan, April 19, 2009)

Malmo 1 – Trelleborg 1 (Allsvenskan, April 19, 2009) Just three minutes had been played when Kristian Haynes put Trelleborg in the lead. Malmo equalised as Robert Ahman-Persson netted on 19 minutes.

Gais 3 – Hacken 0 (Allsvenskan, April 19, 2009)