Goals from Holland, Portugal, Belgium, Greece, Turkey, Israel & Cyprus

Twente 2 – Vitesse 1 (Eredivisie, January 17, 2009) Steve McClaren’s side continued their impressive season with a hard fought victory at the Arke Stadion. Blaise Nkufo put Twente ahead on 19 minutes, but Vitesse hit back just after the break when Sebastien Sanosi struck. But the home side were not to be denied as Danish star Kenneth Perez struck on 66 minutes. The win means Twente are now just a point behind second placed Ajax.

Den Haag 2 – Heracles 2 (Eredivisie, January 17, 2009) Den Haag took the lead through Karim Soltani (22), but Ricky van den Bergh levelled before the break. Timothy Derjick restored Den Haag’s lead just after the break, but they could not hang on for the win as Emanuel Boakye levelled 10 minutes from time. Heracles were controversially denied the win by referee Ruud Bossen after Bas Dost’s 91st minute header appeared to have crossed the line only for the officials to rule otherwise.

NAC Breda 1 – FC Utrecht 1 (Eredivisie, January 17, 2009) Patrick Zwaanswijk looked to have grabbed the winner just after the half-hour mark. But Utrecht midfielder Tom Caluwe struck in the last minute to silence the FujiFilm Stadion.


Benfica 1 – Belenenses 0 (Carlsberg Cup, January 17, 2009) Kostas Katsouranis bagged the only goal of the game in the first half.

Porto 1 – Academica 0 (Carlsberg Cup, January 17, 2009) Nunes was unfortunate to head the ball into his own net when attempting to cut out a cross.


Standard Liege 3 – Dender 2 (Jupiler League, January 17, 2009) Milan Jovanovic put Standard in the lead after just three minutes but Dender immediately equalised through Oguchi Onyewu. Dieumerci Mbokani restored the home side’s lead but again Dender responded immmediately as Daan de Pever levelled. Standard eventually secured the win through Steven Defour.


Panserraikos 0 – Olympiakos 1 (Greek Super League, January 17, 2009) Torosidis steered in a free-kick as Olympiakos claimed the points.

Iraklis 0 – AEK Athens 1 (Greek Super League, January 17, 2009) Blanco hit the winner for AEK.

Asteras 3 – Thrasivoulos 0 (Greek Super League, January 17, 2009)


Galatasaray 4 – Malatyaspor 2 (Turkish Cup, January 17, 2009) Gala were 2-up at the break through Yilmaz and Karan. Both sides lost players at the start of the second half, Gungor saw red for Gala while Tugcu was dismissed for the visitors. Akici pulled at a goal back for Malatyasporonly for Arda Turan to restore the two goal cushion. Koyuncu scored and was later sent off for the visitors only for Yildiz to settle the match from the spot.

Antalyaspor 2 – Gaziantepspor 0 (Turkish Cup, January 17, 2009) Both goals arrived in a five minute spell in the second half, Dijehoua opened with a rebound and Tita sealed the win with a diving header.


Maccabi Petah Tikva 2 – Maccabi Haifa 0 (Ligat ha’Al, January 17, 2009) Lior Asulin was the hero for Petah’s Tikva, scoring the first after good work from Pablo Bastianini down the down before setting up Bastianini for the second.


AEP Paphos 2 – Anorthosis Famagusta 2 (Cypriot First Division, January 17, 2009)

Enosi 0 – Apollon 3 (Cypriot First Division, January 17, 2009)