FC Twente & KV Mechelen reach their respective Cup finals

FC Twente 3 – NAC 1 (Dutch Cup, April 21, 2009) Steve McClaren’s side booked a place in the final, coming from 1-down after Anthony Lurling had given NAC the lead. Theo Jansse equalised with a fine volley and late on goals from Romano Denneboom and Blaise Nkufo sealed the victory.


KV Mechelen 2* – Cercle Brugge 1 (Agg. 3-3) (Pens. 5-3) (Beker van Belgie, April 21, 2009) Mechelen score first when Bjorn Vleminckx put his side ahead after 27 minutes. Cercle replied through Tony Sergeant’s equaliser just before the break, but Joachim Mununga forced the game into extra time bagging a second after the interval. In the shoot-out Mechelen’s players remained more focused, as the team progressed to the cup final.


All the goals from round 5 of the Russian Premier League can be seen here.