Benfica edge Belenenses as Porto drop points; Ruiz double in Twente late show; Ajax win; Goals from Turkey, Greece & more

Benfica 1 – Belenenses 0 (Liga Sagres, February 13, 2010) Benfica’s serial-goalscorer Oscar Cardozo broke the deadlock with no-hopers Belenenses after 10 minutes with a trademark header.

Leixoes 0 – FC Porto 0 (Liga Sagres, February 13, 2010) Third-placed FC Porto lost ground in the title race as they were held to a goalless draw by second-bottom Leixoes.


Vitesse 1 – FC Twente 2 (Eredivisie, February 13, 2010) Is this the result that will prove that Steve McClaren’s men can actually win the title? Until the final eight minutes it seemed that Paul Verhaegh’s first half goal for the hosts could spring a shock upset on Twente. But Bryan Ruiz grabbed a leveller in the 82nd minute and Ron Stam proved the heroic match winner with a winner in injury time.

Heerenveen 0 – Ajax 2 (Eredivisie, February 13, 2010) Second half goals from Dennis Rommedahl and goal-scoring machine Luis Suarez earned the Amsterdammers the three points.

AZ Alkmaar 2 – Roda 0 (Eredivisie, February 13, 2010) Pa-Madou Kah’s own goal broke the deadlock after 70 minutes with Rasmus Elm’s late strike ensuring AZ claimed the points.


Gaziantepspor 2 – Besiktas 0 (Super Lig, February 13, 2010) The Istanbul giants fell behind to Julio Cesar’s goal after 10 minutes and Armand Deumi put the game beyond the visitors in the 51st minute. The result leaves Besiktas one point behind Kayserispor in the race for Europa League qualification, and six behind league leaders Fenerbahce.


Panthrakikos 1 – AEK 2 (Greek Super League, February 13, 2010) Nacho Scocco and Youssouf Hersi scored at the start of each half to put AEK in the lead, Steve Belek pulling a consolation back for the hosts.

Xanthi Skoda 0 – Larisa 1 (Greek Super League, February 13, 2010) Jan Blazek scored the only goal of the game four minutes before the break.

Pas Giannina 0 – PAOK 1 (Greek Super League, February 13, 2010) Giorgios Fotakis scored the only goal of the game shortly before halftime and, despite being reduced to ten men following the sending-off of Nikos Arabatzis for his second yellow card midway through the second half, Fernando Santos’s side held on to leapfrog Olympiakos into second.


Hapoel Tel Aviv 4 – Maccabi Ahi Nazrat 0 (Ligat ha’Al, February 13, 2010) John Gregory saw his side get dismantled against second-placed Hapoel, the humiliation compounded when home keeper Vincent Anyema slotted home a penalty.