Ajax damage Twente’s title hopes; Anderlecht pull away from Club Brugge; Porto win; Fener held; Pana & Olympiakos cruise to victory

Ajax 3 – FC Twente 0 (Eredivisie, February 7, 2010) (Longer highlights here.) A speculative low drive from Demy de Zeeuw put Ajax in front against Twente midway through the first half. On the stroke of halftime Ajax doubled their lead when Marko Pantelic (offside?) tapped the ball over the line to leave McClaren’s men chasing the game. A last minute strike from Dennis Rommedahl wrapped up a fine win for Martin Jol’s men.

Feyenoord 1 – AZ Alkmaar 2 (Eredivisie, February 7, 2010) Mounir El Hamdaoui gave AZ the lead at Feyenoord with a back-post header after 28 minutes, but the hosts headed into the break on level terms as Pontus Wernbloom scored one of the season’s incredible own goals as the AZ forward rifled a low shot past his own keeper via the foot of the post. AZ had the final say however as Hector Moreno claimed an 87th minute winner for last season’s fallen champs.

RKC Waalwijk 0 – NEC 1 (Eredivisie, February 7, 2010) RKC Waalwijk remain five points adrift at the bottom of the table after suffering a 1-0 defeat against fellow strugglers NEC. There was late drama as there was nothing to choose between the sides until Bas Sibum struck in the 90th minute.

VVV Venlo 2 – Vitesse 0 (Eredivisie, February 7, 2010) Venlo got the better of mid-table rivals Vitesse Arnhem with a 2-0 win secured with an own goal from Civard Sprockel and a late strike by Patrick Paauwe.

Heracles 4 – FC Groningen 3 (Eredivisie, February 6, 2010) Thomas Enevoldsen’s brace had the visitors two up at the break, and Morten Nordstrand netted their third soon after Bas Dost had pulled one back at the start of the second half. But Heracles never gave up and turned the match on its head in the final 20 minutes thanks to Dost’s second goal of the evening, a 75th minute equaliser from Willy Overtoom and Birger Maertens’ winner two minutes from time.

Roda 2 – Sparta 1 (Eredivisie, February 6, 2010) Willem Janssen (32) and Mads Junker (65) gave Roda the lead and Sparta could only respond through Erik Falkenburg’s 89th minute consolation.


Zulte-Waregem 1 – Club Brugge 1 (Jupiler League, February 7, 2010) Emille Lyng put Zulte ahead after eight minutes only for Rostand Kouemaha to level matters midway through the first half. Brugge had Karel Geraerts sent off with 20 minutes to go and they are now eight points behind Anderlecht.

Anderlecht 1 – Sint Truiden 2 (Jupiler League, February 6, 2010) Anderlecht took the lead when Jelle van Damme scored after 21 minutes. Peter Delorge levelled the score on 27 minutes and a penalty from Cephas Chimedza even handed Sint-Truiden the shock upset with just three minutes to go in regular time.


Vitoria Guimaraes 1 – Pacos Ferreira 2 (Liga Sagres, February 7, 2010) Brazilian centre-back Valdomiro had put the home side ahead in the 17th minute, but Maciel Ozeia grabbed the leveller 12 minutes later with Araujo Maykon grabbing the winner in the second half.

Porto 3 – Naval 0 (Liga Sagres, February 7, 2010) Jesualdo Ferreira’s side led 1-0 at half-time thanks to a goal from Tomas Costa before Radamel Falcao and Silvestre Varela made sure of the win with goals late in the second half.

Olhanense 1 – Nacional 0 (Liga Sagres, February 7, 2010) Olhanense claimed just their third win of the season as they defeated Nacional 1-0 to move out of the relegation zone. Substitute Vitor Manuel Toy grabbed the winner in injury time to give the Algarve club real hope that they can beat the drop.

Maritimo 1 – Uniao Leiria 0 (Liga Sagres, February 7, 2010) A 21st minute effort from Pinheiro Kleber was enough to enable Maritimo to defeat Uniao Leiria in the day’s other game.


Fenerbahce 1 – Diyarbakirspor 1 (Super Lig, February 7, 2010) Ayman Abdelaziz looked as though he had given the visitors a shock win only for Andre Santos to pop up with a last-minute equaliser.

Sivasspor 2 – Denizlispor 0 (Super Lig, February 7, 2010)

Trabzonspor 3 – Manisaspor  0 (Super Lig, February 7, 2010) Two goals from Umut Bulut and a Ceyhun Gulselam strike enabled Trabzonspor to see off Manisaspor 3-0.

Ankaragucu 0 – Bursaspor 0 (Super Lig, February 7, 2010) Fourth-placed Bursaspor were also involved in a goalless stalemate at Ankaragucu.


Larissa 0 – Panathinaikos 3 (Greek Super League, February 7, 2010) Panathinaikos had already missed one clearcut scoring chance when Djibril Cisse broke the deadlock in the 43rd minute, firing home after a cross by Giorgos Karagounis. The Frenchman then added his 17th goal of the season in first half injury time after a cross by Nikos Spiropoulos. Sotiris Ninis made it 3-0 just three minutes later with a shot from the edge of the area.

Olympiakos 5 – Levadiakos 1 (Greek Super League, February 7, 2010) Olof Mellberg (19th) and Matt Derbyshire (36th) gave the defending champions a 2-0 lead before Giannis Taralidis pulled one back in the 41st minute. In the second half Olympiakos sped into overdrive as Derbyshire made it 3-1 in the 53rd minute and two late goals from Kostas Mitroglou earned his team a 5-1 result.

Atromitos 1 – Panionios 0 (Greek Super League, February 7, 2010)

Aris 0 – Panthrakikos 2 (Greek Super League, February 7, 2010) In a game resumed Sunday after a downpour forced its suspension on Saturday, last-place Panthrakikos caused a shocked by winning 2-0 at Aris. Already 1-0 up from Saturday through a 42nd minute goal by Fotis Papoulis, Panthrakikos made sure when French midfielder Bertrand Robert converted a 78th minute penalty.

Iraklis 1 – PAOK 1 (Greek Super League, February 7, 2010)


Maccabi Haifa 4 – Hapoel Beer-Sheva 1 (Ligat ha’Al, February 6, 2010) Shlomi Arbeitman netted a hat-trick for league leaders Haifa in the Green’s victory.