The Puskas Award: FIFA release their top 10 goals of 2011

For only the third time ever, FIFA have released the Puskas Award nominees for 2011.

The following list contains the top 10 goals scored in the calendar year and they will compete for the Puskas Award which was established for the first time in 2009.

Previous winners include Cristiano Ronaldo (2009) and Hamit Altintop (2010).

Fifa say “Every goal has been chosen for its aesthetic quality and the importance of the match in which it was scored, as well as the absence of luck or mistakes by the opposing team. Fair play and the date of the goal were also deciding factors. The result is a shortlist containing everything from solo efforts and long-range strikes, to lobs, volleys and spectacular scissor-kicks.”

All 10 goals from the Puskas Award 2011 can be seen on this video.

Accordingly, the nominees for the 2011 Puskas Award are as follows:

1. Benjamin de Ceulaer (Lokeren) v Club Brugge

2. Giovani dos Santos (Mexico) vs United States

3. Julio Gomez (Mexico U17) v Germany U17

4. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (AC Milan) vs Lecce

5. Lisandro Lopez (Arsenal Sarandi) vs Olimpo

6. Lionel Messi (Barcelona) v Arsenal

7. Neymar (Santos) v Flamengo

8. Heather O’Reilly (United States) v Colombia

9. Wayne Rooney (Manchester United) v Manchester City

10. Dejan Stankovic (Inter Milan) v Schalke


[poll id=”66″]

Get notified!
About the best football betting tips from industry experts!
Thank you!
Click here for more Premier League betting tips