Mitre Goal of the Year shortlist announced: Top 5 Football League goals scored in 2012

The Football League have announced their final five goal shortlist for the Mitre Goal of the Year 2012.

With three divisions below the Premier League to choose from, there are some absolute worldies on this list, all embedded below.

Among the nominees, whittled down from an original list of 10, are Manchester United’s Nick Powell who will be up against Leeds’ Sam Byram.

Other contenders include Mark Hudson, Josh Wright and Sam Cox, the latter of whom scored one of the most popular goals on 101 Great Goals in 2012.

Mark Hudson – Cardiff City (v Derby County)

Nick Powell – Crewe Alexandra (v Cheltenham Town)

Sam Byram – Leeds United (v Oxford United)

Josh Wright – Millwall (v Burnley)

Simon Cox Nottingham – Nottingham Forest (v Birmingham City)