La Liga Team of the Year, ft. 7 Atletico Madrid players, 1 Real Madrid; no Messi, and no Barcelona players! [Graphic]

La Liga BBVA has announced its team of the 2013/14 season, and after reclaiming the Spanish title for the first time since 1996, Atletico Madrid predictably and deservedly dominate.

7 Rojiblancos features, along with 2 welcome surprises from Athletic Bilbao, 1 from Sevilla, and one Real Madrid player.

Atleti make up nearly the entire defensive line: Courtois in goal, Filipe Luis, Godin, and Juanfran joined by Athletic’s Laporte.

In midfield, Atleti heroes Gabi and Koke are joined by Athletic’s Iturraspe and Sevilla’s Rakitic, with Pichichi Cristiano Ronaldo and Diego Costa up front.

That leaves us with an incredible stat: not a single player from runners-up Barcelona, no Iniesta, and no Messi; surely the first time in more than a decade that not a single Cule makes the team of the year.

And even more amazingly, they can have no real complaints about that.