This website has consistently campaigned for goal-line technology and whilst this episode is another example that Sepp Blatter and friends have their head up their arses, it is so clear that cameras are not even needed.
Independiente Rivadavia hosted Patronato in Argentina’s second division (Prim B Nacional) on Saturday and the home side ran out comfortable 3-0 winners.
With the score at 1-0, Independiente midfielder Gonzalo Bazan worked his way up field and hit a long ranger that hit the post, rebounded off Patronato keeper Sebastian Bertoli and went in off the stanchion.
The ball bounced out at such an angle that it convinced referee Luis Alvarez that the ball had indeed not crossed the line when it was clear to all and sundry that it should have been a goal.
Bazan said after the match, after he had scored Independiente’s second in a 3-0 win: “I could notÂ believeÂ it when they cancelled it. I felt so helpless, but luckily later I got another goal.”
In true referee-style, Alvarez commented after the game commented: “We did not give the goal because we did not see it. We are not allowed to talk further.”
(Via Off The Post.)