Bayern Munich have played a starring role in every World Cup final since 1982

A post on Reddit today reminded readers about what a prestigious club Bayern Munich are.

The German champions have played a starring role in every World Cup final since 1982, providing at least one player to contest the competition finale.

One of the main things that has been keeping this record alive is the success of the German national team.

Germany have reached five of the last nine World Cup finals but it is a credit to Bayern that they always provide the core of that side.

Another string to Bayern’s bow is the fact that they bring in the finest foreign talent.

This record shows Bixente Lizarazu, Jorginho and Willy Sagnol all played in the final while under the employment of Bayern.

After Germany’s fourth World Cup triumph last summer, Bayern currently have eight players in their squad who have played in a World Cup final.

You can see the full list of Bayern players in World Cup finals since 1982 below.

1982: Breitner, Dremmler and Rummenigge for Germany
1986: Matthäus and Eder for Germany (D. Hoeneß as sub)
1990: Augenthaler and Kohler for Germany (Reuter)
1994: Jorginho for Brazil
1998: Lizarazu for France
2002: Kahn, Linke and Jeremies for Germany
2006: Sagnol for France
2010: Robben and van Bommel for the Netherlands (Braafheid)
2014: Neuer, Boateng, Lahm, Schweinsteiger, Kroos and Müller for Germany (Götze)