All 101 Articles 101 Social

About Watford

Watford Football Club was founded in 1881. The club plays in the Premier League after they gained promotion for the 2015-16 season. The club’s nickname is the Hornets.


Watford’s colours were blue and white until 1959 when they changed to yellow and black. The club’s traditional home kit is a yellow shirt with black shorts. The club’s crest features a red hart (a male red deer) on a yellow and black background.


The Hornets’ stadium is Vicarage Road. The stadium has a capacity of 21,577 and has been Watford’s home since 1922.


Watford have finished runners-up of the First Division once in their history, in the 1982-83 season. The club were also FA Cup runners-up the following season. Watford have been promoted to the Premier League on three occasions. In the 1999-2000 season, the club’s first in the Premier League, Watford finished last.


Luther Blissett holds the record for the most Watford appearances with 503. Blissett is also the club’s all-time leading goalscorer with 186 goals. Notable former players include Ben Foster, Ashley Young, Kevin Phillips, David James and John Barnes.


Harry Kent took charge of 484 games at the club, more than any other Watford manager. Graham Taylor oversaw 428 matches and guided Watford to their highest ever league position in 1983. Other notable managers of the club include Gianfranco Zola, Malky Mackay, Brendan Rodger, Aidy Boothroyd and Glen Roeder.