About Villarreal

Villarreal Club de Futbol was founded in 1923. The club are nicknamed El Submarino Amarillo (The Yellow Submarine) because of their all-yellow home strip.


Villarreal’s stadium is Estadio El Madrigal which has a capacity of 25,000 and has been the club’s home since its inception.


The club first played in La Liga in the 1998-99 season but were relegated that campaign. Villarreal made it back into La Liga for the 2000-01 season and spent fourteen consecutive seasons in the top division before being relegated in 2012. Villarreal gained promotion at the first time of asking and have been participated in La Liga since the 2013-14 season.


Villarreal have twice reached the semi-finals of the UEFA Cup/Europa League, in the 2003-04 and 2010-11 seasons. In the 2005-06 season, under the management of Manuel Pellegrini, Villarreal made it to the semi-final of the UEFA Champions League where they faced Arsenal. Villarreal lost the two-legged tie 1-0 on aggregate, with Juan Roman Riquelme having his stoppage time penalty saved by Jens Lehmann in the second leg. The club won the UEFA Intertoto Cup in 2003 and 2004.


The club’s leading scorers in La Liga history are Giuseppe and Diego Forlan, both with 54 goals.

Marcos Senna is Villarreal’s record La Liga appearance holder with 259. Notable former players include Santi Cazorla, Nilmar, Juan Pablo Sorin, Joan Capdevila, Robert Pires and Diego Godin.