About Uruguay

The Uruguayan national football team played its first international match on 16 May 1901, losing 3-2 to Argentina in Montevideo. The side’s home colours are sky blue, while their away colours are white. The side is managed by Oscar Tabarez, who has been the head coach since 2006.


The national team’s home stadium is the Estadio Centenario. The stadium has been used by Uruguay since 1930 and has a capacity of 76,609.


Uruguay hosted and won the very first FIFA World Cup in 1930, beating Argentina 4-2 in the final in Montevideo. Although the national team did not participate in the following two editions, Uruguay were crowned World Champions for a second time when they won the tournament in Brazil in 1950. In total, Uruguay have played at twelve World Cup tournaments, and made it to the semi-finals in 2010.


Uruguay are the most successful side in Copa America (formerly South American Championship) history, having won the tournament fifteen times, most recently in 2011 after defeating Paraguay 3-0 in the final in Buenos Aires. Uruguay have appeared in all but two of the forty-four editions of the tournament since its inception in 1916 and have hosted the tournament on seven occasions.


Luis Suarez is Uruguay’s all-time leading goalscorer. At the 2014 World Cup, Suarez was sent off and subsequently banned after he bit Giorgio Chiellini in a match against Italy. Diego Forlan is Uruguay’s most capped player with 112 caps to his name. Diego Godin is the captain of the side which also includes Fernando Muslera, Gaston Ramirez and Edinson Cavani.