All 101 Articles 101 Social

Swansea City Association Football Club was founded in 1912, originally as Swansea Town. Swansea have played in the Premier League since 2011 and were the first Welsh side to participate in the competition.


The Swans’ traditionally play in an all-white home kit. The club’s crest is a black swan with the team name written underneath it.


Swansea play their football at the Liberty Stadium, which was the first Welsh ground to be used in the Premier League. The Liberty seats just over 20,000 spectators and has been the Swans’ home since 2005.


Under the management of Brendan Rodgers, the club was promoted to the Premier League for the 2011-12 season and recorded victories over Arsenal, Liverpool and Manchester City in their debut season. The club won their first major trophy in England by winning the 2013-12 League Cup, under the management of Michael Laudrup. Swansea thrashed Bradford City 5-0 in the final to lift the cup.


Laudrup was replaced on 4 February 2014 by former player Garry Monk. Other notable managers of the club include John Toshack, Micky Adams, Paulo Sousa and Roberto Martinez.


The club’s all-time leading goalscorer is Ivor Allchurch who scored 177 goals for the club. Wilfred Milne has the most appearances for the club, with 586. Notable former players include Colin Pascoe, Joe Allen, Ben Davies, Michu and Wilfried Bony.


After a season and a half with the club, record-signing Bony was sold to Manchester City for a fee of £25 million, a record fee received by the club. In the club’s short history in the Premier League, their highest placed finish is a respectable 9th.