About Stuttgart

Verein fur Bewegungsspiele Stuttgart 1893, more commonly known as VfB Stuttgart, was former on 9 September 1893. The club has played in all but two seasons of the Bundesliga, since its establishment in 1963.


Stuttgart are nicknamed Die Roten (The Reds), although their home colours are predominantly white.


Stuttgart’s stadium is the Mercedes-Benz Arena, which has been their home since 1933. After a 2011 expansion, the stadium has a capacity of 60,469.


Stuttgart have won the top tier of German football on five occasions, most recently in the 2006-07 season under the management on Armin Veh. The club has also won three DFB-Pokal titles, a German Super Cup and three UEFA Intertoto Cups. Stuttgart finished runners-up in the 1989 UEFA Cup, losing 5-4 to Napoli over a two-legged final.


The club’s all-time leading goalscorer is Karl Allgower, with 129 goals. Hermann Ohlicher lies second on the list and is also the club’s record appearance holder, scoring 126 goals in 389 matches.


Notable former players include Jurgen Klinsmann, Giovane Elber, Timo Hildebrand, Aliaksander Hleb, Cacau, Thomas Hitzlsperger, Sami Khedira and Mario Gomez


Notable former managers of the club include Joachim Low, Felix Magath and Giovanni Trapattoni.