Associazione Sportiva Roma was founded on 7 June 1928 in Rome, Italy. The club has participated in the top tier of Italian football for all but one season of their existence.


Roma’s colours are imperial purple and yellow, representing the traditional colours of the city of Rome. Throughout the club’s history, Roma’s badge has featured a wolf. The club’s current badge illustrates the myth of the founding of Rome featuring a female wolf with two infant brothers, Romulus and Remus.


The match played between the two Roman sides is known as the Derby della Capitale and is considered to be the fiercest derby match in the country. The sides have only ever met once in Cup Final, the 2013 Coppa Italia Final, which Lazio won 1-0.


The club’s home stadium is the Stadio Olimpico, which has been their home since 1953. The stadium has a capacity of 72,698 and is shared with Roma’s local rivals, Lazio. Roma are, however, set to move to their new stadium, Stadio della Roma, in 2016.


Roma have won the Serie A title on three occasions, most recently in the 2000-01 season. The club has finished as runners-up in the league thirteen times. Roma have won the Coppa Italia nine times and the Supercoppa Italiana twice.


In the 1983-84 season, Roma finished as runners-up in the European Cup, losing to Liverpool on penalties despite hosting the final in Rome.


With over 280 goals in nearly 700 appearances for the club, current captain Francesco Totti is the club’s all-time leading goalscorer and holds the record for the most Roma appearances. Notable former players include Cafu, Emerson, Vincenzo Montella, Gabriel Batistuta and Christian Chivu.


Nils Liedholm is the club’s most successful manager; the Swede won four major honours during his second spell at the club. Notable former managers include Luis Enrique, Luciano Spalletti, Rudi Voller, Fabio Capello and Sven-Goran Eriksson.