About River Plate

Club Atletico River Plate was founded on 25 May 1901 in Beunos Aires, Argentina. The club is one of the most successful in South American football history.


River’s colours are white, red and black. The club’s home shirt has traditionally been white with a red sash. Rivers away kits generally feature a combination of the club’s colours.


The club’s home stadium is the Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti, which opened in 1938. The stadium has a current capacity of over 67,000 and has recorded attendances of over 100,000 in the past.


River have a long-standing rivalry with Boca Juniors. The two contest the Superclasico, which is known to be one of the fiercest rivalries in the world.


River became the first and only South American side to simultaneously hold all four of CONMEBOL’s major international tournaments when they won the 2014 Copa Sudamericana, the 2015 Recopa Sudamericana, the 2015 Copa Libertadores and the 2015 Suruga Bank Championship.


The club has won more than thirty domestic league titles and three Copa Libertadores titles.


Angel Labruna is the club’s all-time leading goalscorer with 317 goals. Amadeo Carrizo holds the record for most River appearances with 520. Other notable former players include Aldfedo Di Stefano, Hernan Crespo, Pablo Aimar, David Trezeguet, Javier Mascherano, Radamel Falcao, Alexis Sanchez and Ariel Ortega.


With 9 honours to his name, Ramon Diaz is the club’s most successful manager, followed by Jose Maria Minella and Angel Labruna. Aldredo Di Stefano, Manuel Pellegrini and Diego Simeone have also managed the club.