About Portugal

The Portugal national football team played its first international match on 18 December 1921, losing 3-1 to Spain in Madrid.


The national team’s home colours have alternated between maroon and those of the Portuguese flag, red and green. Traditionally, the side has worn white as their away colour.


Portugal’s home stadium is the Estadio Nacional, also known as the Estadio do Jamor. The stadium has a capacity of 37,000 and was first used by the national team in 1945.


The national team have competed in six FIFA World Cup tournaments. Portugal finished third in their first participation in England in 1966. In the 2006 World Cup in Germany, Portugal were knocked out in the semi-final stage by France. In 2010, Portugal recorded a 7-0 win over North Korea in a group stage match in Cape Town.


Portugal have also participated in the European Championship six times, finishing 3rd on three occasions. When Portugal hosted the tournament in 2004, they finished as runners-up after losing to Greece in the final.


Luiz Felipe Scolari is the Portugal manager with the most wins, with 42. Other notable managers include Antonio Oliveira, Carlos Queiroz and Paulo Bento.


Luis Figo holds the record for the most Portugal appearances, having won 127 caps. Current captain Cristiano Ronaldo is the national team’s all-time leading goalscorer and has won the Ballon d’Or award on three occasions. Eusebio also won the award in 1965. Other notable former players include Pauleta, Rui Costa, Deco and Nuno Gomes.