Middlesbrough Football Club was founded in 1876. The club was one of the founding members of the Premier League in 1992.


Boro’s colours are red and the club’s crest features a red lion. Middlesbrough’s home stadium is the Riverside Stadium, which has a capacity of 34,742. The stadium has been their home since 1995. Prior to that, the club’s home ground was Ayresome Park.


Middlesbrough have never won the top tier of English football but have won the second division on four occasions, and the third divison on a further two. In the 2003-04 season the club won the League Cup after they beat Bolton Wanderers 2-1 at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff. Boro also finished as FA Cup runners-up in 1997 and UEFA Cup runners-up in 2006.


Boro have been relegated from the Premier League on three occasions, most recently in the 2009-09 season. The club currently plays in the Championship.


George Carnsell is the club’s all-time leading goalscorer with 345 goals. Tim Williamson holds the record for the most Middlebrough appearances, with 563. Notable former players include George Boateng, Paul Ince, March Schwarzer, Fabrizio Ravanelli, and Juninho.


Bob Dennison took charge of 381 matches as manager of the club, more than any other in the club’s history. Notable former managers include Bryan Robson, Terry Venables, Steve McClaren and Gareth Southgate.