Leicester City Football Club was founded in 1884, originally as Leicester Fosse, and became a member of the Football Association in 1890.


The club’s colours are royal blue and white and have been used on their home kits throughout most of their history. The club is nicknamed the Foxes because of Leicestershire’s association with foxes and fox hunting. Leicester’s crest has featured a fox on it since 1948.


Leicester play their football at the 32,000-seater King Power Stadium, which they moved into in 2002. They had previously played at Filbert Street since 1891.


The Foxes’ longest-serving manager is Matt Gillies, who managed 508 games for the club, winning the League Cup in 1964. Other notable managers include Brian Little, Micky Adams and Martin O’Neil, who guided Leicester to two League Cup titles.


Graham Cross holds the record for the most Leicester City appearances, with 599. The club’s all-time leading goalscorer is Arthur Chandler, who scored 273 goals in 419 appearances. In the 1956-57 season, Arthur Rowley scored a club record 44 goals. The club’s record signing is Croatian striker, Andrej Kramaric, who joined the club from Rijeka in January 2015, for a fee of over £9 million.


Notable former players to have played for the club include Gordon Banks, Peter Shilton, Gary Lineker, Roberto Mancini, Emile Heskey, Muzzy Izzet and Esteban Cambiasso. Lineker, Shilton and Heskey were all graduates of the club’s youth academy.


The club finished runners-up in the English first tier in the 1928-29 season and have been runners-up in the FA Cup on four occasions. Leicester City have won three League Cup trophies, most recently in 2000.


In the 2013-14 season, Leicester gained promotion back into the Premier League for the fourth time after winning the Championship. The following season, then-manager Nigel Pearson miraculously kept the club up after an incredible end-of-season run. The club have a history of yo-yoing between the top two tiers in England; having previously been in the Premier League in 1994-95, again from 1996-2002 and once more in the 2003-04 season.