About LA Galaxy

The LA Galaxy was founded in 1995 in Los Angeles, California. The club joined the MLS in 1996 and play in the Western Conference. Bruce Arena is the current head coach of the side, having replaced Ruud Gullit in 2008. The side is captained by Robbie Keen.


LA Galaxy’s colours are white, navy blue and gold and the team’s home kit is all-white. The current club logo, which was adopted in 2007, features the club’s name and a quasar in a blue shield with a gold background.


The club play at the StubHub Center, formerly known as the Home Depot Center. The stadium has been the club’s home since 2003 and has a capacity of 27,000 spectators.


The Galaxy are the most successful side in the MLS, having won the cup on four occasions and finishing runners up a further four. The club has also won four MLS Supporters’ Shield titles, most recently in 2011.


LA Galaxy gained global recognition when they signed David Beckham from Real Madrid in 2007. His arrival in Los Angeles led to a rise in interest in the MLS, both nationally and internationally. Beckham won two MLS Cups and two Supporters’ Shields during his time at the club.


In 2015, the Galaxy signed Giovani dos Santos and Liverpool legend Steven Gerrard. Landon Donovan is the club’s all-time leading goalscorer with 112 goals. Cobi Jones holds the record for most appearances for the Galaxy with 306. Other notable former players include Juan Pablo Angel, Carlo Cudicini, Christian Wilhelmsson and Abel Xavier.