Galatasaray Spor Kulubu, commonly known as Galatasaray, was founded on 30 October 1905, originally as Galata-Serai Football Club. Along with the other sides in Turkey’s “Big Three”, Besiktas and Fenerbahce, Galatasaray have featured in every season of the Turkish Super Lig.


Since 1908 the club’s kit has traditionally been a red and yellow halved shirt with white shorts and red socks. Galatasary’s crest is a simple design of the letters GS with the club’s founding year written in the middle.


Galatasaray play their football at the Turk Telekom Arena, which has been their home since 2011. The stadium has a capacity of 52,652.


Galatasaray’s biggest rivals are Istanbul neighbours, Fenerbahce. The derby match between the two sides is known as the Intercontinental Derby.



Galatasaray have won a record number of Super Lig titles, winning their 20th in the 2014-15 season. They also hold the record for Turkish Cup and Super Cup wins. Galatasaray are also the only club in to have won the Super Lig on four successive occasions.


In the 1999-2000 season, Galatasaray achieved the continental quadruple, winning the 1999-2000 UEFA Cup, Super Lig, Turkish Cup, Turkish Super Cup and the 2000 UEFA Super Cup.


Galatasaray’s most successful manager is Fatih Terim. Terim won 13 major honours with the club, including the UEFA Cup. Notable managers of the club include Graeme Souness, Frank Rijkaard and Roberto Mancini.


Hakan Sukur is the club’s all-time leading goalscorer, with228 goals in 392 appearances during his three spells at the club. Turgay Seren holds the record most Galatasaray appearances, with 631.


The current squad includes Dutch midfielder Wesley Sneijder and World Cup winner Lukas Podolski. Notable former Galatasaray players include Didier Drogba, Franck Ribery, Arda Turan, Rigobert Song, Harry Kewell and Gheorghe Hagi.