The England national football team played their first international match on 30 November 1872, drawing 0-0 with Scotland. The Three Lions, as they are nicknamed, play their home matches in an all-white kit, while their away kit is red and white.


England’s national stadium is the new Wembley Stadium, which replaced the original in 2007. The stadium has a capacity of 90,000.


England have participated in fourteen FIFA World Cups, and famously won the tournament as hosts in 1966 under the management of Alf Ramsey. England beat West Germany 4-2 after extra time in the final, with Geoff Hurst scoring a hat-trick.


The Three Lions have also participated in eight European Championships. They hosted the tournament in 1996, where they finished 3rd.


England’s top goalscorers are Bobby Charlton, Gary Linekar and current captain Wayne Rooney. Charlton scored 49 goals for the Three Lions. Goalkeeper Peter Shilton holds the record for most England caps, winning 125. David Beckham lies second on the list with 115.


Roy Hodgson, who became manager in 2012, currently manages the side. Walter Winterbottom is England’s longest serving manager, having been England boss for 16 years. Other notable England managers include Fabio Capello, Sven-Goran Eriksson, Terry Venables and Bobby Robson.


Other notable players to have played for the Three Lions include Bobby Moore, Gordon Banks, Jimmy Greaves, Bryan Robson, Paul Gascoigne, Gary Neville, Michael Owen, Frank Lampard, Steven Gerrard and John Terry.