Crystal Palace

Crystal Palace Football Club was founded on 10 September 1905 in London. The club is named after the Crystal Palace, an exhibition palace erected in London’s Hyde Park in 1851. It is believed that workers at the exhibition building formed the initial amateur football club and competed in the inaugural FA Cup. The club has a strong rivalry with London neighbours, Millwall.


Crystal Palace are nicknamed the Eagles. The club’s home colours are red and blue, although they were originally claret and blue after Aston Villa donated kits to the club when it was founded. The club’s crest features an Eagle above the Crystal Palace.


Palace play their football at Selhurst Park, which has been their home since 1924. The stadium has a capacity of 26,255 spectators.


The club’s longest serving manager was Edmund Goodman, who took charge of 613 matches in the early 20th century. Notable managers of the club include Neil Warnock, Steve Coppell and Terry Venables. Steve Bruce has a higher win ratio than any other Palace manager, although he only managed the club for one season.


Crystal Palace finished as runners up in the 1990 FA Cup after a 3-3 draw with Manchester United forced a replay, which the Eagles lost 1-0. The club’s best league finish was third place in the 1990-91 First Division campaign. The club has won several lower division titles in its history. In the 2012-13 season, Palace won promotion to the Premier League via the Championship Play-Offs.


Current manager Alan Pardew made 128 league appearances for the club as a player. The club’s all-time leading goalscorer is Peter Simpson, who scored 165 goals for the club. Jim Cannon holds the club record for most appearances, with 663. Ian Wright is the club’s leading post-war goalscoer with 117 goals in 227 appearances.


Other notable players to have played for the club include Mark Bright, Nigel Martyn and Andrew Johnson. Gareth Southgate, Victor Moses and Wilfried Zaha are products of the club’s youth academy.