About Brazil

The Brazilian national football team, La Seleção, played their first international match on 20 September 1914 against Argentina in Buenos Aires.


Brazil are the most successful side in World Cup history, winning the tournament on five occasions; in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002. The national team has participated in all twenty editions of the World Cup, including the first in 1930.


Brazil have competed in 33 Copa America tournaments, and have been crowned champions on eight occasions, most recently in 2007. The national team have also participated in eight Confederations Cup tournaments and have won the trophy on a record eight occasions.


Unlike most national teams, Brazil do not have a home national stadium and rotate their competitive fixtures around the country. The country’s largest stadium is the Maracana Stadium, which has a capacity of 78,838.


The national side’s greatest ever player and all-time leading goalscorer is Pele, who scored 77 goals in 92 appearances. Pele is widely regarded as one of the greatest footballers of all time. He made his Brazil debut in 1957 as a 16-year-old. The following year, Pele became the youngest player to play in a World Cup Final, where he scored two goals as Brazil beat Sweden 5-2 in Stockholm. Pele went on to win a further two World Cups and scored in the 1970 final.


Cafu is the player with the most caps for Brazil, with 142. With 125 caps to his name, Roberto Carlos lies second on the list. Five Brazilians have won the FIFA World Player of the Year award since it was introduced in 1991; Romario, Ronaldo (3), Rivaldo, Ronaldinho (2) and Kaka. Other legendary players to have played for the national team include Garrincha, Gerson, Jairzinho, Rivellino, Dunga, Romario, Bebeto and Zico.