About Borussia Dortmund

Borussia Dortmund, sometimes referred to as BVB, was founded on 19 December 1909. The club’s colours are black and yellow. Dortmund are one of the most successful sides in Germany.


Since 1974, the club’s stadium has been the gargantuan Westfalenstadion, which has a capacity of over 81,000. The stadium is famous for its south stand, Die Südtribüne. The Yellow Wall, as it is nicknamed, is the largest free-standing grandstand in Europe.


Dortmund have won eight Bundesliga titles, most recently in the 2011-12 season under the management of Jurgen Klopp. The club has also won three DFB-Pokal titles. In the 1996-97 season, Dortmund won the UEFA Champions League after beating Juventus 3-1 in the final in Munich. The club finished runners-up in the 2012-13 Champions League. Dortmund were defeated 2-1 by German rivals Bayern Munich at Wembley Stadium, thanks to a last minute winner from Arjen Robben.


Jurgen Klopp left the club in June 2015 and was replaced by Thomas Tuchel. Klopp won five honours during his time as Dortmund manager, including two Bundesliga titles. Other notable managers in the club’s history include Ottmar Hitzfeld and Matthias Sammer.


The club’s all-time leading goalscorer is Alfred Preissler, who scored 168 goals for the club. Michael Zorc, now sporting director at the club, holds the record for the most Dortmund appearances with 463.


Notable former players include Paul Lambert, Jens Lehmann, Tomas Rosicky, Christoph Metzelder, Mario Gotze and Robert Lewandowski.