Bolton Wanderers Football Club was founded in 1874, originally as Christ Church Football Club and adopted its current name in 1877. The club’s nickname is the Trotters.


Bolton play their football at the Macron Stadium, formerly known as the Reebok Stadium. The stadium has a capacity of just over 28,723 and has been the club’s home since 1997.


The club’s traditional home kit features an all-white shirt with navy shorts. The club crest’s, adopted in 2013, features the club’s initials above a red rose and the year the club was founded.


The club first played in the Premier League in the 1995-96 season after winning the Division 1 Play-Off final. In the 2011-12 season, their eleventh consecutive season in the top flight, Bolton were relegated from the Premier League.


Bolton have won the FA Cup on four occasions, most recently in 1958. In 2004 the club finished as runners-up in the League Cup for the second time in their history. Other honours include the 1968 FA Charity Shield and the 1989 Football League Trophy.


Charles Foweraker was the club’s manager from 1919 to 1944, taking charge of a record 912 matches. In his time with the club, Foweraker won three FA Cups. Notable managers in more recent times include Owen Coyle, Gary Megson and Sam Allardyce.


The club’s all-time leading goalscorer is Nat Lofthouse, who scored 285 goals for the club. Eddie Hopkinson holds the record for the most Bolton appearances, with 578.


Notable former players include Jussi Jaaskelainen, Kevin Nolan, Jay-Jay Okocha, Ivan Campo, Dietmar Hamann, El Hadji Diouf, Gary Speed and Gary Cahill. Nolan, Nicky Hunt, Joey O’Brien and Ricardo Vaz Te are all graduates of the club’s academy.