Club Atletico Boca Juniors, or Boca for short, was founded on 3 April 1905 in Buenos Aires. The Argentine club are one of the most successful sides in South American football history.


The club play their football at La Bombonera, which has been their home since 1950. The stadium has a capacity of 49,000.


Boca have a long-standing rivalry with River Plate. The two contest the Superclasico, which is known to be one of the fiercest rivalries in the world.


Although the club’s original kit was black and white, since 1907 the club’s colours have been yellow and blue (now gold and blue). In 1906, because Boca and Nottingham de Almagro’s kits were too similar, a match was played between the two sides to decide which team would get to keep it. Boca lost the match and decided to adopt the colours of the flag of the first ship to sail into the port of La Boca, so the story goes.


The club’s badge is blue and gold and features the clubs initials surrounded by 50 stars, each one representing a title won by the club.


Boca are the most success team in Argentina, having won more than 60 official titles, including 30 Primera Division titles and 11 domestic cups. In addition to this, Boca have also won three Intercontinental Cups, two Copa Sudamericana trophies and six Copa Libertadores titles.


Carlos Bianchi is the club’s most successful manager, having won nine titles with the club. Other notable managers of the club include Alfredo Di Stefano, Oscar Tabarez and Alfio Basile.


The club’s all-time leading goalscorer is Martin Palermo, who scored 236 goals for the club. Roberto Mouzo holds the record for most Boca appearances with 426. One of the greatest footballers of all time, Diego Maradona, finished his professional career as a Boca player.


Notable players to have played for the club in more recent times include Juan Roman Riquelme, Walter Samuel, Carlos Tevez, Fernando Gago and Rodrigo Palacio.