Sport Lisboa e Benfica was founded on 28 February 1904. The club is one of the traditional “Big Three” in Portugal, along with rivals Sporting CP and FC Porto.


The club are nicknamed the Eagles, and have a golden eagle on their crest. The crest also features the club’s motto E plurbus unum, Latin for “Out of many, one”. Throughout the club’s history, Benfica’s home shirts have always been red.


Benfica play their home matches at the Estadio da Luz, which has been their home since 2003. The stadium has a capacity of 65,647 and hosted the 2014 UEFA Champions League final.


Benfica have won over 70 domestic titles, and hold the record for the most Primeira Liga and Taca de Portugal titles. In the 2014-15 season, Benfica won their 34th Primeira Liga title. Benfica have also won the European Cup on two occasions, in the 1960-61 and 1961-62 seasons.


The club’s all-time leading goalscorer is Eusebio, who scored 473 goals for the club in 440 appearances. Nene is the player with the most appearances for the club, with 575 in all competitions. A statue of Eusebio stands outside the Estadio da Luz.


Other notable former players of the club include Joao Pinto, Rui Costa, Pablo Aimar, Angel Di Maria, David Luiz and Ramires.


Jorge Jesus, who managed the club from 2009 to 2015, won 10 major honours with the club before moving to arch-rivals Sporting Club. Notable former managers of the club include Ronald Koeman, Giovanni Trapattoni, Jose Mourinho, Jupp Heynkes, Graeme Souness and Sven-Goran Eriksson.