Bayern Munich

All 101 Articles 101 Social

About Bayern Munich

Fußball-Club Bayern München, commonly known as Bayern Munich are the most successful club in German football history. The club was founded in February 1900 in Bavaria and won their first national title thirty-two years later.


The club’s original colours were the Bavarian colours of blue and white but from 1974 their colours changed to red. The club’s circular crest features the Bavarian colours.


Since 2005 the club have played their football at the state-of-the-art Allianz Arena. The stadium has an official capacity of 75,000 and the stadium’s entire exterior can change colour. Prior to their move to the Allianz, Bayern played their matches at the Olympiastadion.


The club’s all-time leading goalscorer is Gerd Muller, who scored 365 goals for the club. Goalkeeper Sepp Maier holds the record for most club appearances with 473. Notable former players include Lucio, Michael Ballack, Jurgen Klinsmann, Oliver Kahn, and Franz Beckenbauer.


Bayern Munich have had a number of successful managers in their history. Jupp Heynckes won the European treble in the 2012-13 season, during his third managerial spell at the club. Other notable managers include Louis van Gaal, Giovanni Trapattoni and Franz Beckenbauer. The club’s most successful manager is Ottmar Hitzfeld who won 14 titles in two spells with the club.


Bayern hold the record for the most Bundesliga, German Cup and German Super Cup titles. Their domestic trophy haul stands at well over 50 titles. The club has also won the European Cup on five occasions, adding to their six other international trophy wins.


Three of Bayern’s European Cup wins came in three consecutive seasons. Bayern were champions of Europe for the 1973-74, 1974-75 and 1975-76 seasons.


Bayern Munich are also known for their youth teams and have produced a number of talented players over the years. Notable academy graduates include Emre Can, David Alaba, Thomas Muller, Toni Kroos, Mats Hummels, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Thomas Hitzlsperger, Philip Lahm, Owen Hargreaves and Franz Beckenbauer.