All 101 Articles 101 Social

About Anderlecht

Royal Sporting Club Anderlecht, or Anderlecht for short, play in the Belgian Pro League and are the most successful side in the country's history. The club is also the most widely supported team in Belgium and has the highest average match attendances in the league.


The club was founded in 1908 in Brussels and reached the highest tier of Belgian football in 1921. Anderlecht have not been relegated since 1936. The club's traditional home colours are white and purple, which also feature prominently on the club's crest. Placed above the crest are three golden stars, each one representing ten domestic League titles.


In addition to this, Anderlecht have won more than twenty domestic cups and five European trophies, the most notable of which is their 1983 UEFA Cup where Anderlecht faced Benfica in a two-legged final and won 2-1 on aggregate. In 1986 the club was ranked the best team in Europe by UEFA.


The club have played their football at the 28,000-seater Constant Vanden Stock Stadium since 1917. Anderlecht's biggest rivals are Club Brugge and Standard Liege, who together make up the traditional "big three" in Belgium.


Anderlecht's most successful and longest-serving manager was Englishman Bill Gormlie who won five League titles with the club in the 1950s. Frenchman Pierre Sinibaldi won four League titles with the club in the 1960s.


Paul Van Himst is the player with the most appearances for the club, with 457 and he is also their second highest all-time goalscorer; behind Joseph Mermans, who scored 338 goals in 384 appearances. Dutch international Rob Rensenbrink was voted the club's greatest ever player in 2008. The Dutch international scored 141 goals in 261 League appearances.


Anderlecht are known for their emphasis on youth development and boast a prestigious academy. Notable graduates include Vincent Kompany, Romelu Lukaku, Adnan Januzaj, Dennis Praet and Youri Tielemans. Other notable former players include Cheick Tiote, Lucas Biglia and Dries Mertens.