Melbourne are the A-League champions; Kashima beat Gamba in the Japanese Super Cup

Melbourne Victory 1 – Adelaide United 0 (A-League Grand Final, February 28, 2009) Melbourne Victory won a second A-League grand final in three years, Tom Pondeljak curled in a delightful winner on the hour mark against an Adelaide side who were down to 10-men for most of the game after Cristiano was sent off in the 10th minute.


Kashima Antlers 3 – Gamba Osaka 0 (Japanese Super Cup, February 28, 2009) Kashima struck early through Shinzo Koroki in the 6th minute and doubled their lead just eight minutes later when Marquinhos scored from close range. The J-League champions killed the contest in the 39th minute as Koroki crossed for Takuya Nozawa to bag the third.