Boca Juniors win the Apertura title despite defeat to Tigre

Boca Juniors 0 – Tigre 1 (Apertura play-off final, December 23, 2008) (Longer highlights here.) Leandro Lazzaro headed home the only goal midway through the second half but it wasn’t enough to stop Boca winning the Apertura title thanks to their 3-1 win over San Lorenzo on Saturday. Rodrigo Palacio was sent off late on but Tigre could not find the second goal that would have given them the title.


Bahrain 1 – Saudi Arabia 0 (International friendly, December 23, 2008) Hussain Salman grabbed the only goal.