Was Gerard Pique’s goal correctly ruled out for offside in Man City 0 – Barcelona 2? It was very, very tight

The Demicheles-Messi penalty incident wasn’t the only controversial call made by Swedish ref Jonas Erikkson during last night’s Champions League tie between Man City and Barcelona at the Etihad.

10 minutes from time, with Barcelona 1-0 up, Xavi threaded a ball over the top for Fabregas, who breached City’s offside trap.

With Pique also having broken through, Cesc slid a square ball to him to tap in for 2-0.

Only, the ref blew for a very debatable offside, adjuding Pique to have been offside in the first phase as Xavi played the ball over the top.

As the picture above and video below shows, though, Pique was half on/half off in the first phase. while Cesc was 100% onside.

Was Pique’s goal correctly ruled out for offside?

Latest on Barcelona

Best Bookies

Get Bonus
Bet £10, get £30
100% bonus on the 1st deposit, up to £200
Up to £25 free bet

Petr Cech explains what Arsenal are missing , believes the Gunners can win trophies

Legendary 101 content!!!