- Cristiano Ronaldo struggles to stay awake during statue unveiling [Video]
- James Rodriguez’s & Radamel Falcao’s Fathers played together for Deportes Tolima in 1987
- Pirloesque! Bastian Schweinsteiger’s stunning free-kick v Mainz [Video]
- Liverpool fan after Arsenal draw: ‘Flamini should have been sent off!’ [Video]
- Manchester United players make fans’ dreams come true at Christmas Foundation [Video]
Should Daniel Sturridge have won a penalty for Liverpool v Southampton?
Liverpool lost their first match of the Premier League season on Saturday when Southampton won 1-0 at Anfield, however Scouse supporters were left upset that their side didn’t win a penalty in the first half.
The action started when Daniel Sturridge picked up possession on the far right hand side, and the in-form striker immediate made moves towards the Saints box.
After putting Southampton left-back Luke Shaw on the defensive with a strong run into the box, Sturridge hit the deck after covering defender Dejan Lovren stuck out his right leg in the Saints area. Lovren didn’t make contact with the ball but he did make contact with the Liverpool attacker.
Yet referee Neil Swarbrick failed to call a penalty nor did he book Sturridge for diving. Instead he simply waved play-on, which seemed to most unlikely decision in the circumstances.
Watch footage of Daniel Sturridg’s penalty claim for Liverpool v Southampton below.
- Updated: September 22, 2013