Scandalous! Moyes says Spurs’ Lloris should have seen red for scything down Man United’s Ashley Young [Video]
- January 2, 2014
I don't think it was a penalty when Hugo Lloris/ Ashley Young clashed because Young had released the ball and it did not interfere with play
— Mike Parry (@mikeparry8) January 2, 2014
Have only just seen Lloris' challenge on Young. That's a red card, as well as a penalty.
— James Dall (@JamesDallESPN) January 2, 2014
— Daniel Taylor (@DTguardian) January 1, 2014
David Moyes was adamant that Manchester United should have had a penalty and should have been playing against 10-men against Tottenham on New Year’s Day.
Following the shock win for Tim Sherwood’s men at Old Trafford, the Man United supremo branded referee Howard Webb’s refusal to award a penalty for Hugo Lloris’s challenge on Ashley Young and to send the goalkeeper off as “scandalous”.
The incident occurred in the 87th minute as United trailed Spurs 2-1.
Ashley Young advanced into the Tottenham box on the left-hand side, and French goalie Lloris charged off from his line to confront the winger. As the two players come together Young beat the keeper to the ball only to square a cross onto Michael Dawsen’s head, while Lloris went charging into the United #19, although no actual contact was made.
While some had their doubts over whether a penalty should have been awarded, David Moyes had no such qualms.
I thought the team played really well, certainly should have had a penalty and a sending-off for the challenge the goalkeeper made on Ashley Young but I thought we created enough opportunities to get at least a draw.
It was scandalous. If you follow through on a player anywhere else on the pitch with your foot high, it would be a red card. You couldn’t do that anywhere else. The goalkeeper comes out, Ashley Young gets the ball before him and he follows through.
It’s an incredible decision which didn’t go our way, in fact probably one of the worst, I think. All I can tell you is that it is a stonewall penalty kick.
Arguably, Man United didn’t get the decision because of Ashley Young’s reputation of being a diver, and referee Webb had already become wise to spotting diving antics courtesy of a flop from Danny Welbeck earlier in the half.
Completing a trio of dodgy falls, Adnan Januzaj was also denied another decision when the youngster fell just outside the Spurs box when he tried to get past Danny Rose.
Watch the Welbeck, Young and Januzaj incidents on the video below.
- Man United’s Ashley Young marries Nicky Pike [Pictures]
- Man United fan poses wearing new 15/16 Adidas home strip [Instagram picture]
- Ashley Young models Manchester United’s new Adidas kit in leaked picture
- Man United star Ashley Young posts Radamel Falcao tribute on Instagram
- Ashley Young posts ‘brilliant’ video of Man United fans singing favourite s...
- Fellaini & Young hailed as Man United win 2-1 at Crystal Palace [Best Tweets]
- Galatasaray Vs. Bursaspor: A 101 Great Goals special feature on the Turkish Cup final [...
- Join Now: 101 Great Goals launches a brand new WhatsApp broadcast list service
- 101GG compile chronological list of the 20 best goalkeepers in world football [Video]
- Thiago Messi’s appearance at Barca celebrations has produced cute Photoshops
- Cristiano Ronaldo comes to the rescue of Japanese child interviewer attempting Portugue...
- What Pep said to Messi