“Playing for pen? Yes. Diving? No” – Gary Lineker Tweets defence of Luis Suarez

It swiftly became the big Premier League talking point of the day: Did Luis Suarez dive to win Liverpool’s penalty for the equaliser against Aston Villa.

As referenced elsewhere on this website, Twitter lit up with plenty thinking Luis Suarez did take a dirty dive over Brad Guzan to secure the penalty that Steven Gerrard scored from against Aston Villa.

Referee Jonathan Moss had no hesitation to award a penalty and did not caution Guzan with Aston Villa complaining vociferously both immediately and after the match.

Match of the Day presenter Gary Lineker has plenty of experience of these situations having played for England, Everton, Barcelona and Spurs.

Lineker put his two penneth into the discussion after Liverpool had drawn 2-2 with Villa at Anfield and put forward a very strong argument in favour of the Uruguay striker.

Playing for pen? Yes. Diving? No   Gary Lineker Tweets defence of Luis Suarez

 

Latest on Aston Villa

Best Bookies

Bookie
Bonus
Get Bonus
1st
Bet £10, get £30
2nd
100% bonus on the 1st deposit, up to £200
3rd
Up to £25 free bet
The 10 best Premier League signings of the summer thus far

Legendary 101 content!!!