Lightning strikes twice: Hole in the net denies Vera Cruz goal versus Central (video)

Lightning strikes twice: Hole in the net denies Vera Cruz goal versus Central (video)Unfashionable Brazilian minnows Vera Cruz found themselves licking their wounds at the weekend when, in their match against Central, a goal was disallowed after the ball escape the goal through a hole in the netting.

The incident arose when Vera Cruz had a free-kick just outside the box which their number five superbly directly into the far post with a glancing header. The ball clearly entered the goal past the outstretched hand of the Central keeper. But, with the ball slipping through a hole in the net before crashing against the advertising hoardings, the referee controversially ruled the goal out.

Footage of the shocking refereeing decision can be seen here.

Now, while a story about such an error of judgement from a match referee is noteworthy, the story is made that much more interesting as it’s not the first time such a situation has arisen in a meeting between Vera Cruz and Central.

Back in 2007 the meeting between the two parties had to be called off after Vera Cruz’s Rivelino scored a terrific 25-yarder into the roof of the net, only for the ball to again escape through the netting and the goal to be chalked off.

Rivelino’s non-goal from 2007 can be seen 14 seconds into this video.