Cinderella Man! Jesus Escoboza (Mexico) loses boot, doesn’t care, scores v Mali (U20 WC) – Legit?
- Updated: June 29, 2013
Jesus Escoboza showed great balance and composure here in Mexico’s U20 World Cup win over Mali on his way to scoring El Tri’s third goal.
Escoboza’s right boot popped off as as he broke through on goal, but, unbothered, he didn’t even break stride, kept his balance perfectly and calmly finished with his left into the bottom corner.
But…should it have counted?
The rules state that footwear (boots) must be worn at all times, and that should they come off, play must be stopped.
The most recent precedent for this occurred in 2011/12, during Man United’s 1st leg Europa League last 16 clash with Athletic Bilbao.
In the build-up to Athletic’s decisive third goal, German referee Florian Meyer gave a free kick to the Spanish visitors because Patrice Evra lost his boot.
Players from both sides were left bewildered at the time, and even manager Marcelo ‘El Loco’ Bielsa admitted to being unaware of it.
Watch Jesus Escoboza’s quality, and possibly illegal, goal against Mali on the clip below.