For all those who blindly believe the Germans are the leaders in efficiency and getting things right, we’d ask you to reconsider after watching the following horrific decision to award Christian Tiffert a goal during Duisburg’s 5-nil demolition of FSV Frankfurt.
The truth of the matter is that this goal mattered little in the overall scheme. Duisburg were leading their Bundesliga II match 4-nil at the time of Tiffert’s 81st minute effort, and so the Frankfurters probably didn’t have the will or the energy to fight the 100% wrong decision to award a fifth goal against the visitors.
Yet, how the match officials reached the conclusion that the ball crossed over the line remains an absolute disgrace. Forget Wembley 1966, there was never any doubt whatsoever that Tiffert’s shot had crossed the line, rather the ball smacked the crossbar and clearly bounced nowhere near the chalk, only for referee Mark Fritz to shamefully call that a goal had been scored.
Christian Tiffert’s unbelievable goal against FSV Frankfurt can be seen here.