Arsenal & Gooners celebrate as Ozil, Podolski & Mertesacker become World Cup winners

It wasn’t quite like 1998 when Patrick Vieira set up Manuel Petit for the third goal as France won the World Cup on home soil.

But, instead of Manchester City (Pablo Zabaleta, Martin Demichelis and Sergio Aguero) being responsible for an Argentina World Cup win, it was Arsenal that can claim to be the Premier League side holding the trophy at the end of the tournament.

Mesut Ozil played the full 120 minutes and was quietly effective.

And, Per Mertesacker was a late substitute after Mario Gotze’s winner.

Best of the Twitter reaction to Arsenal (kind of) winning the World Cup again above and below…

As you can see, the likes of Jack Wilshere and Aaron Ramsey joined in the congratulations as well…